There are 2 roles in Shared Drive with different permissions: Editors and viewers
InfoEditor
Viewer
Make a viewer an editor |
Clear indication of access rights across Shared Drive
You can get an overview who is a viewer and an editor in the conversation details
Info banner at the top
- Viewer access
-
You have view access for this conversation, but you can't upload, edit, or manage files
Info banner above the text field
-
You have view access for this conversation, but you can't upload, edit, or manage files
Info when you open a file about viewer access
-
Viewer access
Info when you create a new conversation with Shared Drive enabled
-
People outside your team can view files, not upload or edit.
In system messages
-
Editor: Shared Drive is on. You have editor access. People outside your team only have viewer access. Learn more
-
Viewer: Shared Drive is on. You can view, but you can't upload, edit, or manage files. Learn more
Info for guest links
-
Guests can't upload, edit, or manage files in Shared Drive.
Files in Drive for which you have viewer access are marked with the viewer icon
You will only see this when Drive is activated for your team. The icon is visible in a Drive conversation that does not belong to your team.