Group conversation roles

  • Updated

Participants in a group conversation have different roles. You are either a group admin or a group member. The roles are synced across all your devices and on all platforms. Every group conversation has at least one group admin who holds the highest level of permissions. The creator of a group is by default the group admin and is the only one who can also delete the group conversation. There can be several admins.

See also this video.

Group Members

Group members have no permissions to manage group conversation settings, but their personal ones.

Permissions:

  • Notification settings
  • Archive a conversation
  • Timed messages
  • Leave a group

Group Admins 

Group Admins manage the roles, the conversation´s name and settings.

Permissions:

  • Add and remove members
  • Add and remove services
  • Turn allow guests on or off
  • Turn global timer on or off
  • Upgrade and downgrade participants
  • Rename the group conversation
  • Enable and disable read receipts
  • Group members´ permissions 

As a Group Admin upgrade and downgrade participants roles:

In the conversation list:

  1. Select the name of the group.
  2. Select the group name at the top.
  3. Select the participant.
  4. Toggle  Group Admin to on or off.

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.