Send a timed message

  • Updated

Timed Messages are messages that automatically disappear from conversations when the timer you set for them runs out. You can set a timer for texts, pictures, audio, videos, links, documents, and pings. Timed Messages are available in 1:1 and group conversations.

  • On desktop (MacOS and Windows) or on Wire for Web:

    To send a Timed Message:

    1. Click Timed Message in the conversation

      timer.png

    2. Set the timer

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.21.53.png

    3. Write a message and send it

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.23.38.png

  • On mobile:

    1. Tap Timed_Message.png Timed Message in the conversation.
    2. Set the timer.
    3. Write a message and send it.
    4. To turn Timed Messages off, tap the red timer to the right of the cursor, then toggle to Off.

The sender will see a timer Expiration_indicator.png  to the left of the message, and once expired, the message will be replaced by a scribble  that disappears once the message has been read.

The receiver will see the message with the timer Expiration_indicator.png  icon. The timer will not start until the message is visible on screen. When the timer runs out, the message disappears.

Timed messages are synced to the receiver's and sender's devices.

Timed Messages are great for many things, but please be aware that the receiver could still take a screenshot or photograph the screen.

Was this article helpful?

3 out of 4 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.