Send a self-deleting message

  • Updated

Self-deleting messages are messages that automatically disappear from conversations when the timer you set for them runs out. You can set a timer for texts, pictures, audio, videos, links, documents, and pings. Self-deleting messages are available in 1:1 and group conversations.

  • On desktop (macOS, Windows, or on Wire for web)

    For 1:1 conversations

    1. Select the timer button in the conversation:



    2. Set the timer by selecting a time:



    3. Write a message and send it:


       

      For group conversations

      In the conversation

      1. Select the group name or the info button:

      Bildschirm­foto 2023-07-27 um 11.57.09.png

      2. Select Self-deleting messages:

      Bildschirm­foto 2023-07-27 um 12.04.38.png

      3. Set the timer for the group conversation by selecting a time:

      Bildschirm­foto 2023-07-27 um 12.06.50.png

      4. Self-deleting messages are now enabled for all participants of this conversation.
      5. To turn off sending self-deleting messages, open the conversation details, select Self-deleting messages and then the Off option.
  • On mobile

    For 1:1 conversations

    1. Select the timer button in the conversation.
    2. Set the timer by selecting a time.
    3. Write a message and send it.
    4. To turn self-deleting messages off, select the time indicator in the typing field and select Off.

    For group conversations

  1. In the conversation list, select the name of the group, and then select the group name.
  2. Select Self-deleting messages.
  3. Set the timer for the group conversation by selecting a time.
  4. Self-deleting messages are now turned on for all participants in this conversation.
  5. To turn off sending self-deleting messages, open the conversation details, select Self-Deleting Messages, and then select Off.

The sender will see a timer, and once it expires, the message is replaced by a scribble (on iOS and desktop)  that disappears once the message has been read.

The receiver will see the message with the timer. The timer will not start until the message is visible on the screen. When the timer runs out, the message disappears.

Self-deleting messages are synced to the receiver's and sender's devices. They are great for many things, but please be aware that the receiver could still take a screenshot or photograph the screen.

Be aware, that you can´t reply to a self-deleting message.

Was this article helpful?

11 out of 17 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request