How do I block or unblock someone?

You can block or unblock a contact in your personal account or guests in a team account.

On desktop (MacOS and Windows) or on Wire for Web:

In the conversation list:

  1. Hover the cursor over the name of the person you'd like to block.
  2. Click Down Arrow ▼.
  3. Click BLOCK.
  4. Confirm by clicking BLOCK again. 

The conversation with the blocked person is hidden from the active and archived lists. A blocked person will not be explicitly notified that you've blocked them.

To unblock a person:

  1. Click Contacts.png People.
  2. Search for them by their profile name using the search field.
  3. Click their name in the search results.
  4. Click UNBLOCK to allow them to contact you again.

On mobile devices:

In the conversation list:

  1. Swipe right on the name of the person you'd like to block.
  2. Tap BLOCK.
  3. Tap BLOCK again.

The conversation with the blocked person is hidden from the active and archived lists. A blocked person will not be explicitly notified that you've blocked them.

To unblock a person:

  1. Tap Contacts.png People.
  2. Search for them by their profile name or username in the search field.
  3. Tap their name in the search results.
  4. Tap UNBLOCK to allow them to contact you again.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request