How do I block or unblock someone?

  • Updated
  • You can block or unblock a contact in your personal account or guests in a team account.

    On desktop (macOS, Windows, or on Wire for web)

    Block someone

    1. Select the conversation.
    2. Select the info button .
    3. Select Block.
    4. Confirm by selecting Block again
       

    The conversation with the blocked person is hidden from the active and archived lists. A blocked person won´t be explicitly notified that you've blocked them. They will still be able to open the conversation with you and type messages. However, you will not receive any messages or calls from the blocked person. 

     

    Unblock someone

    1. Select Contacts .
    2. Search for them by their profile name or username.
    3. Select their name in the search results.
    4. Select Unblock to allow them to contact you again.



  • On mobile devices

    Block someone

    1. Select the conversation.
    2. Swipe right on the name of the person you'd like to block.
    3. Select BLOCK.
    4. Select BLOCK again.

    The conversation with the blocked person is hidden from the active and archived lists. A blocked person will not be explicitly notified that you've blocked them.

     


    Unblock someone

    1. Select Contacts .
    2. Search for them by their profile name or username.
    3. Select their name in the search results.
    4. Select UNBLOCK to allow them to contact you again.

     

Was this article helpful?

18 out of 53 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request