How do Timed Messages work?

On mobile:

Timed Messages are messages that automatically disappear from conversations when the timer you set for them runs out. You can set a timer for texts, pictures, audio, videos, links, documents, and pings. Timed Messages are available in 1:1 and group conversations.

To send a Timed Message:

  1. Tap the Timed Message icon  in the conversation.
  2. Set the timer.
  3. Write a message and send it.
  4. To turn Timed Messages off, tap the red timer to the right of the cursor, then toggle to Off.

The sender will see a timer  to the right of the message, and once expired, the message will be replaced by a scribble  that disappears once the message has been read.

The receiver will see the message with the Timer  icon. The timer will not start until the message is visible on screen. When the timer runs out, the message disappears.

Timed messages are synced to the receiver's devices, but they are not synced among the sender's devices.

Timed Messages are great for many things, but please be aware that the receiver could still take a screenshot or photograph the screen.

Have more questions? Submit a request