What does RESET SESSION mean? How can I reset a session?

  • Updated

When you are having a conversation with someone, your devices are having a cryptographic session between them. At any time you can press RESET SESSION to refresh the connection between your device and that of your contacts. This will generate new encryption keys on both devices.

  • On Desktop (MacOS and Windows):

    1. Inside the conversation, click the conversation name.

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.47.38.png

    2. Click DEVICES.

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.45.47.png

    3. Click the device your contact is using. 

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.45.52.png

    4. Click RESET SESSION.

      Screenshot_2021-10-04_at_16.45.58.png

  • On Mobile devices:

    1. Inside the conversation, tap your contact's name at the top of the conversation.
    2. Tap DEVICES.
    3. Tap the device your contact is using.
    4. Tap RESET SESSION.

     

Was this article helpful?

4 out of 13 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.