What are link previews? How can I enable/disable them?

When you add a URL to a conversation in Wire, link previews display a visual preview and brief description of the link. 

Link previews are generated on the sender's side. When you receive a link preview, your contact has sent both the link and the image in its preview. Your Wire app does not have to connect to the website to fetch any data.

To disable this feature:

On mobile:

In the conversation list:

  1. Tap your profile in the upper left.
  2. Tap Settings Settings16x16.png.
  3. Tap Options.
  4. Untoggle Create Link Previews.

On desktop:

  1. Click Settings Settings16x16.png.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Untick Create previews for links you send.
Have more questions? Submit a request